Walking with friends, common interests or family reunion? If the inevitable “hello, let’s create a WhatsApp group” and the impending flood of notifications and emojis fills you with dread… there’s a handy escape you can use without stepping on your toes too much.
A neat new WhatsApp trick allows you to quietly leave groups without alerting everyone.
The messaging app has now introduced a feature that allows users to leave chats without getting embarrassed or causing too much drama.
Banz group: tedious co-workers or family always trying to plan “fun” events? Now you can safely go out without ruffling too many feathers.
Sneak Quietly: Make sure “only group admins are notified” when you leave group chats.
To further increase the distance between you and your old group chat friends… turn off read receipts.
Last year, it was revealed that WhatsApp was testing a new feature that was first spotted by independent WhatsApp experts WABetaInfo.
And earlier this year, the messaging giant snuck into the feature for good.
This allows users to silently leave group chats without sending a notification to other members.
This means that if you’ve been added to chats that you don’t want to participate in, or if plans for an event are long gone, you can now exit and avoid embarrassing moments.
The new feature may also prevent awkward confrontations with more sensitive group members who may not take your departure well.
With this new feature, only the group admin will be notified when you leave.
Of course, group members will be able to see that you’ve left if they look at the list of members on the group details page.
Before this feature was introduced, WhatsApp sent a notification to the entire group whenever someone left.
But with the new rollout, once users have enabled the feature in their WhatsApp settings, they won’t be able to see the message, no matter which group you choose to leave.
However, it should be noted that administrators – the people who created the group – cannot use this feature in this particular chat.
Therefore, they will only be able to go out in groups for which they are not responsible.
How to log out of chats on Android?
Android users can simply tap and hold on the group you want to leave.
They should then tap on the three-dot icon in the top right corner of the screen.
You will then see a message on the screen that says “Only group admins will be notified that you have left the group.”
How to log out of chats on iPhone?
Those who use an iPhone or have WhatsApp installed on their Apple device need to swipe left on the group they want to leave.
Then click Exit.
Users will see a message on the screen that reads: “Only group admins will be notified that you have left the group.”
Otherwise, if you’re worried about backlash for leaving a group, you can turn off read receipts.
This means that your contacts will no longer be able to see when you have viewed their message.
However, you should be aware that by turning off read receipts, you will also not be able to see when others have read your messages.
In order to turn off read messages, you need to:
- Open WhatsApp
- Go to settings
- Then accounts
- Click on Privacy
- Then turn off the Read Receipts toggle.